Skip to content ↓
Westcountry Schools Trust

Westcountry Schools Trust

Westcountry Schools Trust



Iain Grafton (MBE) 

Iain retired as Detective Superintendent in the Police Force after completing thirty years' service. He is now the director of a company providing leadership and governance training and support services to schools, colleges and local academies.

Iain brings an extensive experience, developed over twenty years as a governor in educational institutions, at both primary and secondary levels. Iain brings a detailed understanding of the responsibilities of governance at both school and multi academy trust levels, and he is accredited by the Department for Education as a National Leader of Governance.

Appointed by - Academy Members 

Appointed from - 1 April 2011 

David Madge  

David retired from HSBC Bank plc in 2014 after a career of over 40 years in banking. He has worked in locations throughout Devon and Cornwall and in his final role was a Relationship Manager based in the Commercial Centre in Plymouth. His responsibilities included the management of a portfolio of businesses with an annual sales turnover of up to £30 million. 

David first joined the Governing Body of Ivybridge Community College and then became a founding member of the Ivybridge Academy Trust. Following the growth of the Trust into WeST he stepped down from the board but has remained a member. 

David is a director of Plymouth Energy Community Renewables Ltd and Ernesettle Community Solar Limited both part of Plymouth Energy Community a charity aiming to alleviate energy poverty and provide community benefit in the Plymouth area.

Appointed by - Original (signatory) Members

Appointed from - 1 November 2011

Maureen Alderson  

Appointed by - Academy Members 

Appointed from - 10 September 2018 

Michael Saltern 

Michael Saltern has previously served in the WeST local tier of Governance and as a Trustee. 

Michael served as a Higher Executive Officer in the MOD and has now retired from the Civil Service. He was previously a District Councillor for 18 years and held major portfolios on the Council’s Executive. Michael is currently chair of the Overview and Scrutiny Panel. Michael has been a Director and Chair within the DCH Group. He is currently an advisor to the Police and Crime Commissioner. 

Michael brings a wealth of strategic leadership and governance experience from the public and private sector.

Appointed by - Members

Date of appointment - 3 January 2023

Tony Rose 

Tony has spent the majority of his life in Plymouth over two separate spells, allowing him to gain an understanding and deep appreciation of the South West Region.  He has worked in local government assurance services across the County of Devon for nearly 15 years, focusing on Governance, Assurance and Risk Management. Doing so has allowed him to gain experience of working with schools of all types in a professional capacity, as well as holding voluntary governance roles including as a Chair of Governors, Vice Chair of a MAT, Chair of Audit Committee (MAT) and now as a Member for West. With three School aged children Education is at the forefront of his mind and this also adds firsthand experience of the journey that children are taking through West Schools.

Appointed by - Academy Members 

Appointed from - 4 October 2019

Treve Mitchell  

Appointed by - Original (signatory) Members

Appointed from - 1 April 2011