Skip to content ↓
Westcountry Schools Trust

Westcountry Schools Trust

Westcountry Schools Trust


We will ensure all policies and procedures in respect of safeguarding children are up to date and in line with Keeping Children Safe in Education 2023. Policies and procedures are reviewed and revised by our Board of Trustees on a regular basis. Please find below our policies on Safeguarding.

Disclosure & Barring Checks

Westcountry Schools Trust meets statutory requirements in relation to Disclosure & Barring Service – all staff and volunteers who work with WeST who meet the ‘regulated activity test’ (Freedoms Act 2012) are required to undergo an enhanced DBS check prior to employment. 


All eligible staff and volunteers are required to undertake relevant safeguarding training. A training database for all staff and volunteers is maintained, while training needs are reviewed as part of individual performance reviews. 

Safeguarding in Our Schools 

Safeguarding in each WeST school is led by a Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) who will be supported by one or more Deputy DSLs depending on the size of the school. All WeST DSLs and DDSLs are trained to the level set out in Keeping Children Safe in Education. WeST DSLs meet half-termly with the Director of Safeguarding to share best practice and keep their training up to date. WeST follows the two-year safeguarding curriculum curated by our partner Safeguarding Network.

The current list of WeST DSLs and links to individual school safeguarding information is shown below:




Ashburton Primary School Tammy Docking

Austin Farm Primary School Paul Thomas
Boringdon Primary School Sarah King

Buckfastleigh Primary School Laurie Archer 

Callington Community College Gemma Parker  
Chaddlewood Primary School Sarah King
Coombe Dean School Nicola Macrae
Eggbuckland Community College James Yates 
Ermington Primary School Mark Mitchell

Glen Park Primary School Anthony Hutchings

Hele's School Sandra Crawford          
Holbeton Primary School Sarah Honywill
Ivybridge Community College

Matt Anniss

Amy Pearce 
Manor Primary School Karen Dixon
Morley Meadow Primary School Claire Duncan

Oreston Community Academy  Amy Chivers 
Plympton St Maurice Primary School Chris Rickard
Plymstock School Joseph Ellerton
Sherford Vale School Susie Evans

South Dartmoor Community College

Tamara Dixon

Stowford School Sue Williams      
The Arena Sports Partnership  Michelle Roberts
The Learning Institute   c/o Richard Woodland 
Ugborough Primary School  Lucy French

Wembury Primary School  Samantha Wilkinson
Woodford Primary School Katie Patrick

Woodlands Park Primary School  Karen Hunter  
Yealmpton Primary School Rob Pepper   


Safeguarding Arrangements for WeST Learning Institute 2023-24

University of Worcester (UoW) Foundation Degree Programmes

Apprentices Employed by WeST

Apprentices not employed by WeST

End Point Assessments

For wellbeing concerns, sign-post learners to the UoW First Point Service


Mon to Fri 9.000am to 4.30pm
01905 542551


For safeguarding concerns use the UoW safeguarding system


Email with copied in

Contact safeguarding lead at the relevant WeST school or business unit.


Inform WeST Director of Safeguarding

Contact safeguarding lead of the employer.


Inform WeST Director of Safeguarding

Contact safeguarding lead at the relevant school or business unit.


Inform WeST Director of Safeguarding


Further support available from:

WeST Director of Safeguarding

Richard Woodland

07736 938677